RSS

Walk home

06 Sep

I know I haven’t written in a while.  SORRY!  though tonight I went to a poetry reading.  This is what I scribbled out while listening to others.

Walk home

Darkness

Cold

Crystals coat the trees

Gemstone garden in hues of blue

Eerie silence

not a crow to kaw

Moon is high

Full

Lighting the trail

Alien world?

No.

Alaska, mid-winter

Fog comes with each breath

Sapping life with each step

Half mile

all I have to walk

Home

Light and warmth

Escape from the cold

Fire

How we kept the chill away

Dangerous safety

beats the cold

Yet I survive

The cold wraps around me

Keeping me hidden in shadow

Wolf howls

Alone

Hungry?

Far off in the distance

They don’t hunt in this valley

Dogs bark

Welcoming me home

Have to pass them to get inside

They know soon, they’ll get fresh water

Sled dogs greet me

Jumping up

Hundred steps to the door

Warmth

Safety

 

Escape from sixty below

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 6, 2013 in Poetry

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
